Find members by call or SKCC number:
Advanced Search


Founded, January 2006
23,203 members strong
as of 20-Oct-2020

Help keep SKCC free:

The SKCC Marathon Award

Click on the image to enlarge it

To earn the Marathon Award, one must engage in 100 QSOs, each 60 minutes or longer, and each with a different SKCC member using SKCC qualified keying devices. There is no time limit to earn the award but only QSOs logged after 0000Z 1 January 2008 count.

Members who achieve the Marathon award will receive a special commemorative plaque.

Rationale: Create a true operating challenge that involves the fundamental ideals of ham radio as celebrated by SKCC: operating skill, a good station, conversation skill, and a consistent, quality fist. Create an award that cannot be achieved easily or quickly yet promotes quality content in every contact. The Marathon Award requires people to actually ragchew. Ragchews build camaraderie and long-term friendships. These are ideals worth working for.

The Marathon Award has been deliberately designed to be a challenging achievement for an Amateur Radio Operator. Ragchewing is an art. Anyone can send a brief exchange in a few seconds and move on. Engaging the other station in an extended, informative, and entertaining exchange for a lengthy period requires real skill, a quality station, and a creative mind. The intent of the Marathon Award is to recognize these rare and special talents with the highest level of ragchewing recognition created to date. Few will be able to earn this award.

Here's how it works:

1. Both parties to the QSO must send an email "QSL" to the award manager, Cecil Turquette, K5YQF, at showing the date, time, frequency band, both call signs and SKCC numbers, and duration of the QSO. The confirming station must provide QSO details under his email header along with his “QSL” statement or other confirming language.

2. One band change is permissible during the QSO, and is limited to a break no longer than 10 minutes. The QSO must be extended to include the QSY time time.

3. All QSOs must be from your home QTH using your equipment and antennas. If your only mode of operation is via remotely located equipment, then all 100 marathons must be made from the same remote equipment.

4. When a member reaches 100 QSOs lasting 60 minutes or longer in the database, he or she will qualify for the award. A suitable announcement will be published, the commemorative plaque will be prepared and sent to the operator.

5. Participants must use straight keys, sideswipers (cooties), or bugs. See the club's policy on acceptable keys here.

Tracking Marathon Award Progress -- 100 QSOs needed

AwardCallsignSKCCNameClaimedConfirmedAwardedLast Update
1K5YQF1820Cecil Turquette10010024 Sep 201424 Sep 2014
2N5IR12357Bill Billingsley10010024 Sep 202024 Sep 2020
3K5KV1952Benny Owens10010006 Oct 202006 Oct 2020
AA4SN15195Buck Buckowski101004 Oct 2020
AA8KY6159Billy Massie161601 Oct 2020
AC4ZH21121Paul Dickens3310 Sep 2020
AE5II15292KC Copley7722 Sep 2020
AF4QK20594Kenny Averitte3309 Oct 2020
K0RO14800Ralph Bolt121209 Oct 2020
K2FW20151Steve Bockman111117 Oct 2020
K3ESE19100Lloyd Lachow151515 Sep 2020
K3ZGA12392Bob Schwer6601 Oct 2020
K4ISW13162Lee Moyer9915 Oct 2020
K7VM3070Craig Weygandt1103 May 2020
K8UDH10532Bruce Murdock4401 Oct 2020
K9GVM21171Nick Andrews2224 Jun 2020
KA4UPI2582Mark Melton6604 Oct 2020
KA8HFN2046Larry Fridley564114 Feb 2020
KC5F21092Steve Smith121207 Oct 2020
KE8CTH17337Brant Colbry5512 Sep 2020
KJ7GNB20930Bill Hunt141417 Oct 2020
KK0I2370Jack Hill171618 Oct 2020
KN4IXU18215Rob Christian767620 Oct 2020
KQ4CW22743Dave Ellison2218 Oct 2020
N0GRP23055Rob Sullivan1107 Oct 2020
N4HAY14649Dick Hayter1118 Oct 2020
N4TMM14467Jim Ewing6615 Aug 2020
N5DR19844Cecil Smith3306 Oct 2020
N5KIP3755Dick Burroughs6614 Oct 2020
N7PHI20999Derek Hansen6622 Sep 2020
N7WI16967Tom Stoio3220 Oct 2020
N8DF22670Dave Fuller4419 Oct 2020
ND9M8233Jim Clary7719 Oct 2020
NW7US4758Tomas Hood3305 Oct 2020
PG4I11019Jo Stakenborg1112 Oct 2020
W0RLY17845ERIC Worley5529 Sep 2020
W1TAG15461John Andrews7717 Sep 2020
W2ITT21419Rob WITT9915 Oct 2020
W2OZB17177Philip Bartash323219 Oct 2020
W2SKY22019Peter Fournia3310 Sep 2020
W4LSV2795Barry Fluxe4425 Sep 2020
W6JIM15169Jim Crites5520 May 2020
W6RKE12450Jerry Finn131102 Aug 2020
WA3SCM2968Dave Slater3320 Oct 2020
WA4FAT11062Bill Levey808018 Oct 2020
WA4NID17453Dave Johnson1103 Oct 2020
WB0B8753Larry Newby121228 Sep 2020
WB8SCT15511Jack Gerbs4420 Oct 2020
WD6TED21371Ted Thompson3325 Sep 2020
YL3JD21931Hanz Van de pol1112 Oct 2020

To see each participant's latest log, visit the entrants' log page here.