K3Y - 2012

Moderators: W5ALT, AC2C

K3Y - 2012

Postby PA1FOX » Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:54 am

Hi Fellas,

Since I've only joined SKCC this august, I am not familiar with the SKCC K3Y event. I''ve read the informational pages behind the link at the SKCCGROUP.COM website, but they are all related to the 2011 event and mostly USA related.

The reason I'm writing this, is Bert F6HKA has sent an email around inviting members to take part as the Special K3Y stations. Since I'm just a beginner I will not, but the event as such as attracted my attention.

I was wondering if there is more to know for the event, or will it come automatically with an update of the regular K3Y page on the main website?

Alex
PA1FOX

Postby n3pdt » Sat Jan 14, 2012 8:28 am

Alex, just checked the K3Y page, and it looks like you're doing alright! Hope you're having as much fun as I am with the event.

I've had the priviledge of operating as K3Y/0 a few times now, and find it at least as rewarding as chasing the different stations. It's certainly the biggest pileups I've ever worked, and has given me some insight to, and a very high appreciation for, the skill of the DXpedition ops that can blaze through the pileups.

Another thing; As big and long lasting event as this is, and with many many operators to wrangle, I'm very impressed and appreciative of the team of coordinators for K3Y. My region's coordinator, Russ K0LUW, is great. He gets my logs uploaded almost immediately after I send them-always within an hour or less so far. Ron AC2C has always repsonded to my emails within minutes when I'm able to operate K3Y/0 in an unscheduled slot. I'm amazed at how quickly my QSOs from the day show up in the K3Y logs. Just a great job being done all around.

Also very appreciative of the other K3Y ops. Everyone seems to go out of their way to try to get everyone they can in their log. Just one big, fun, well run, friendly, event. Thanks to all of you.

Doug N3PDT #6861T
n3pdt