Hello from a new SKCC member

Just starting out or wanting to learn about something new. Need help setting up your first station. Want to meet others just starting out. This category is for you.

Moderators: W5ALT, AC2C

Hello from a new SKCC member

Postby K7MEM » Sun Jan 29, 2012 2:59 pm

Good Morning Everyone,

I am new to the SKCC an thought I might introduce myself with a little true story. I am posting this in the "Beginner's Corner" because it is about a beginner.

In the mid 80s I was returning from Germany after a three year contracting assignment. In Germany I ran with a reciprocal license as DA2EU. At the time, the 15 Meter novice band (CW - 21,100-21,150 MHz) was really active and I did most of my operating there. But when I came back to the US, it was a year or more before I was able to set up my rig again. When I did, I went right to the 15 Meter band and found that it was pretty dead. It could have been many things from a crappy antenna to band conditions, etc.., but I was determined to find someone on the air.

So one day I was tuning around 15 Meters and I heard an odd CW signal. I am not sure how to explain it but, after a while on the bands you sort of sense when a transmission is just "run of the mill" or there is something odd. So I started listening a little more carefully to this odd CW signal. As I listened I heard <hello is anyone out there. can anyone hear me. my name is XXXX and my call is XXNXXX. If anyone can hear me please come back.>. Mind you, this was all in rather slow, very deliberate, code. But it was rather good code. This person had obviously practiced sending CW. But he must have missed the section in the manual about sending a CQ. But maybe he was sending a CQ, before I came across him.